No. 21015

Martha J. Box, being first duly sworn, deposes and says:

My name is Martha J. Box and I reside at Addison, Ala. I was born in Calhoun Co., Ala. in 1856. I claim relationship to the Cherokee Indians through my mother, whose name before she was married was Fannie Sizemore, and through my grandmother, Martha Sizemore. My grandmother's maiden name was Martha Hyte and she married Henry Sizemore. Henry Sizemore, to the best of my knowledge, was Ephraim Sizemore's son. My grandfather's full name was William Henry Sizemore. My grandfather Sizemore died on Christmas Day, 1856. Grandfather Sizemore died, probably, in Calhoun Co., Ala. He never received any money from the Government on account of being an Indian, to the best of my knowledge.    My grandparents must have lived in Gwinnet Co., Ga part of their lifetime, as I have heard my mother speak of having gone back there to visit them.    My mother was recognized as a white woman and Grandfather Henry Sizemore was recognized as a white man.

I have heard my folks talk about old man George Sizemores and Own Sizemore and Joseph Sizemore and Lydia Sizemore and great grandfather Ephraim Sizemore, but there were so many of them and it was so far back I can't just tell what relation I am to them.

I claim my Indian blood through the Sizemores, whom I have just mentioned, on my mother's side. I also claim Indian blood through my grandmother, Martha Hyte. She lived in Georgia and various places. My grandmother died in 1876 and I have seen her a great many times. She was recognized as a white woman in the community in which she lived. She never got any money from the Government on account of her Indian blood. I never heard anything about her being enrolled. I don't know that my grandmother ever talked about her Indian blood, but my mother has.

My grandparents lived in South Carolina and my mother may have been born in South Carolina My mother has been dead about 3 years. She was born in 1826, and I think she lived in Gwinnett Co., Ga. in 1835, and likely lived in Calhoun Co., Ala. in 1851. She never received any money from the Government.

Nancy E. Faulkner (20891) is my twin sister and makes claim through the same source as myself.

(Signed) Martha J. Box

SUBSCRIBED and sworn to before me at Haleyville, Ala., this 29th day of June, 1908.

____Stanley A. Rouk__________
Assistant to Special      
Commissioner of the    
Court of Claims           

[Transcribed from the microfilmed records at NARA by Betty Thomas Finger for the website,
Sizemore Family Cherokee Indian Records

Home        Testimony Index